Reinhardt Unviersity Home
RU Mobile Reinhardt on FaceBook Reinhardt on LinkedIn The Blogs of Reinhardt University
Apply NowCheck Application StatusGet Information
All University Events
Current Students
Adult Programs
Graduate Programs
Future Students
Alumni Office
Visitor Information
Performing Arts Center
Classical Music
Jazz Series
Sounds of the South
World Music
School of Music
Season Extras
All Performances
Funk Heritage Center
Special Programs
Maps and Directions
Press Releases

Graduate Programs
Adult Programs
Transfer Students
Accepted Students
Current Students

Date of Event: 03/21/2013 at 7:00 PM Cost: 50 per ticket
Northside United Methodist Church, 2799 Northside Drive NW, Atlanta, GA 30305

Reinhardt University Trustees and administrators, along with presenting sponsor SEI Investments, will join with alumni, trustees, faculty, staff, students, and friends to honor fifteen special people during the University's third annual Talon Awards Gala on Thursday, March 21, 2013, at Northside United Methodist Church. The black-tie optional event will begin with a reception at 6:30 p.m. and the dinner at 7.

Tickets are $50 per person, and proceeds will benefit the Reinhardt University Scholarship Fund in honor of the award recipients.

“We plan to host an exciting event to honor alumni and friends who have made significant contributions of time and resources to benefit the Reinhardt community,” said Dr. J. Thomas Isherwood, Reinhardt president. “We are looking forward to thanking these special friends who have helped make Reinhardt so successful.”

Two Wonderful Outcomes: Saying Thank You and Raising Funds for Scholarships

JoEllen Bell Wilson ’61, Reinhardt vice president for institutional advancement and external affairs, said the generous support from SEI Investments will allow the University to use ticket proceeds as scholarship funds for deserving students. “This event will have two wonderful outcomes: we get to thank friends and raise funds for scholarships. Plus we’ll all enjoy an entertaining night of good music, good news and camaraderie.”   

Wilson said each of the honorees “is an example of a dedicated Reinhardt friend. Though the ways they show their friendship differs, the end result is the same. Reinhardt, and our students, benefit from their participation, or gifts or expertise, or leadership, or all the above.”

The evening will also include dinner music by Elizabeth Coe '14 and a performance by alumni musical group Cobalt Strings, as well as remarks from Reinhardt University President Dr. J. Thomas Isherwood.

To purchase tickets or make a donation, please contact Reinhardt’s Office of Advancement at 770-720-5621.

Award Recipients include:                         

Honoree Awards

Mr. James C. Williams
The Rev. Leigh Sparks Martin

John Wesley Laity Award

Marian Pinson Wilder '50

John Wesley Clergy Award

The Rev. Dr. E. Malone Dodson

Distinguished Alumnus of the Year

Betty Callahan '49

10 Under 10

Dr. Telisha Dionne Bailey '03
Carlos Cadena Gaitan '05
Whitney Carter Herndon '03 '13
Nelson Karpeh '05
The Rev. Thomas Alonzo Lacy '02
Charity Neese '12
Jillian Nichols '04
Randell Trammell '03 '09
Daniel Trotter '07
Captain Sean Woods '10

To purchase tickets, call 770-720-5621.

For more information about how you can support Reinhardt student scholarships, visit

For more information contact:
Janna Moore
Phone: 770-720-5621

Return to Previous Page