Apply Now

30th Annual Dave Henritze Scholarship Golf Classic raises more than $135,000 for students

By Erika Neldner

The 30th Annual Dave Henritze Scholarship Golf Classic was a smashing success and included a surprise announcement that the technology/teaching laboratory located inside the newly renovated Hill Freeman Library and Spruill Learning Center is being named for David “Dave” Durham Henritze Sr. Henritze, before his death in 2000, was a trustee of Reinhardt University and was the founding chairman of the Classic committee.

“We could not have asked for a better day to celebrate Dave Henritze and his dedication to Reinhardt University and to change the lives of Reinhardt students,” said Dale Morrissey, director of development & external relations for Reinhardt. “Dave’s legacy of making a difference in the lives of Reinhardt students lives on through the great work of our volunteers and support of our sponsors and players.”

Twenty-one teams participated in the annual event at Capital City Club-Crabapple May 1.

Since 1988, more than $3.2 million has been raised by sponsors and participants in the Henritze Classic, with more than $135,000 raised this year alone.

The Northside Hospital Cherokee team, comprised of NHC’s chief executive officer, Billy Hayes, plus Dr. Carl Capelouto, Dr. Spencer Lee and Scott Wade, won first-place low net score earning a spot on the coveted trophy that has been around since the very first Classic in 1988.

The second-place low net team was AmWins made up of Scott Alper, Rick O’Neill, Jim Dowdy and Casey Quinn. The AmWins team won with a scorecard playoff. Mark Gromek, Tom Maupin, Clay Snellings and Steve Harmon earned the third-place low net team spot. The fourth-place low net team of Casey Hild, Matt Hames, Norm Richie and Jordan Turner, who represented The Landon Group.  

The first-place low gross team was Kurt Ehlers, Chuck Richardson, Rob Ragan and Jeff Evans representing Wakefield Beasley & Associates. The longest drive prize went to Clay Snellings for his performance on the 8th hole. Closest to the pin on Par 3’s were Doug Crenshaw on No. 3, Corey Gibson on No. 6 and Matt McCormick on both Nos. 13 and 15.

Steve Harmon won the putting contest and Mark Yount earned a prize for longest distance in the contest.

henritze winners
The Northside Hospital Cherokee team made up of Scott Wade, Dr. Carl Capelouto, Dr. Spencer Lee and Northside Cherokee CEO Billy Hayes won the 30th Annual Dave Henritze Scholarship Golf Classic. Photo by Jeff Reed
Golf Classic Chairman Tommy Beman takes a practice shot during the 30th annual tournament. Photo by Jeff Reed

Return to Previous Page