Apply Now
Reinhardt College Honors Alumni And Clergy During United Methodist North Georgia Annual Conference Luncheon

The Reinhardt College North Georgia Conference Luncheon on June 13, 2001, highlighted campus ministry activities, alumni ministers, former Canton First United Methodist Church ministers and Reinhardt Ministerial Association efforts.

The Reinhardt College Ministerial Association hosts the annual luncheon for North Georgia United Methodist Conference delegates and Athens area alumni. Approximately 145 people attended the lunchtime event, which began with an enthusiastic review of campus ministry by College chaplain, the Rev. Ted Staton, and efforts of the Waleska United Methodist Church by the Waleska United Methodist Church pastor, the Rev. Greg Meadows.

The Rev. Dr. Herchel Sheets received the Reinhardt John Wesley Clergy Award during the luncheon. The annual award is presented to a minister and a lay person in recognition of outstanding service to the United Methodist faith. Elizabeth Bailey, a much beloved former Reinhardt administrator and faculty member, received the John Wesley Laity Award at a College event in February 2001.

The 2000-01 Reinhardt Ministerial Scholarship honorees were recognized. Each minister received a plaque listing the people who had contributed to the scholarship fund named in his honor. The honoree scholarship appeals have brought in more than $35,000 during the 2000-01 year and more than $225,000 since the program's inception in 1992.

Scholarship honorees who are alumni ministers celebrating the 45th anniversary of their Reinhardt graduation included the Rev. J. Padgett Nelson Sr., the Rev. Sven Mossinger and the Rev. Bobby Lee Anthony, Class of 1956.

Additional scholarship honorees included the six pastors who had served at Canton First United Methodist Church and thusly as an ex-officio member of the College Board of Trustees: Sheets, the Rev. Fred Shelnutt Sr., the Rev. Newton Scott, the Rev. Sanford Willard, the Rev. Floyd Tenney and the Rev. Dan Brown.

The Rev. Dr. Ron Flowers, chair of the Reinhardt Ministerial Golf Outing, reported on the successful fundraising event held May 15, 2001. The outing involved 144 players and raised approximately $31,000 for work/study scholarships and other scholarships for deserving students.

To conclude the program, the new Ministerial Association officers for 2001-02 year were introduced: the Rev. Brian Clark '90 will serve as president, and the Rev. Dr. Warren Lathem' 72 will serve as first vice president.

Reinhardt College Campus Ministry

Monday - 7 or 8 p.m.
Denominational groups meet: the Wesley Fellowship, the Catholic Campus Ministry (with the Episcopal Students), Baptist Student Union, and the Presbyterian students

Student attend off-campus religious organizations

Wednesday - 8:30 p.m.
Real Deal: student- planned and student-led prayer and praise service involving up to 140 students each week

Thursday - 11 - 11:35 a.m.
Chapel: a time for students, faculty and staff to worship together in an informal setting

Informal Bible Study Groups meet- during the 2000-01 year, 12 such groups, such as the Women's basketball Bible study, the freshmen men, and the freshmen women, functioned on the Campus

Campus Chaplain the Rev. Ted Staton, a United Methodist minister, is available for prayer, counseling, consultation or support

The New Moore Chapel, a small intimate chapel located in the new Fred H. and Mozelle Bates Tarpley Education Center, is open for worship and prayer; during the upcoming year (2001-02) plans are to hold brief morning prayer services at 7, 8 and 9 a.m. for students, faculty and staff

Various religion courses are offered

Service projects and annual Mission Trip: students, faculty and staff participate in activities such as Habitat for Humanity or other service-related efforts. The annual Mission trip, held each year during Spring Break, participants journey to an off-campus destination and fulfill service-related projects. During Spring Break 2001, the mission group traveled to Venezuela to help renovate a seminary building.

Return to Previous Page