Apply Now

Alpha Chi Inducts 21 New Members

new Alpha Chi inductees

Twenty-one Reinhardt College students were inducted into the Georgia Mu chapter of Alpha Chi, a national college honor scholarship society, at the February 22, 2009, induction ceremony held in the concert hall of the Falany Performing Arts Center. Dr. Robert L. Driscoll, the Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the College, was inducted in absentia as an honorary member.

The new inductees included:
First Row (from left):  Mallory L. Chastain of Jasper; Ashley B. Patterson of Talking Rock; Damaris Ferrante of Canton; Ashli Sharpton of Canton; Shannan Gross of Canton; Stacy Elizabeth Chambers-Lowrey of Woodstock; Nancy A. Riccardi of Americus;
Second Row (from left): Lisa A. DiPierro of Canton; Jenna McConnell of Blairsville; Debbie H. Starks of Ellijay; Tyler Blake Hinson of Lincolnton; Jennifer Lee Lanier of Cumming; Louis B. Cipra of Rydal; and
Third Row (from left): Elizabeth G. Gibson of Tate; Jayme M. Dodd of Fairmount; Kurt Roach of Canton; Anna Edenfield of Powder Springs; Karen Dieterich Harris of Cumming; and Brad Blalock of Grayson.
Not pictured are Lucy R. Owen of Duluth; Carol Anne Watkins of Canton, and Dr. Robert L. Driscoll of Marietta, Ga.

Special music was provided by Alpha Chi music majors Hannah Aschmann of Dallas, Ga., (violin) and Jennifer Laminack of Canton, Ga.(cello).

The 2009-2009 Alpha Chi officers Sarah Coulter of Lilburn, Ga.; Jacklyn Dowda of Cumming, Ga.; Jacie Duncan of Jasper, Ga.; and Nallely Zuniga of East Ellijay, Ga., assisted with the ceremony, along with Dr. Thomas Isherwood, Reinhardt president; Ms. Peg O'Connor, the associate vice president for academic affairs; the Rev. Leigh Martin, the college chaplain; Dr. Roger Lee, the vice president of student affairs and dean of students; and Dr. Joy Farmer, the chapter sponsor.

The objectives of Alpha Chi are to promote and to recognize superior scholarship and those elements of character that make scholarship effective for service. The society, founded on February 22, 1922, has more than 300 chapters in colleges all across the United States and Puerto Rico. Membership, which is limited to no more than 10 percent of the junior, senior and graduate program classes, encompasses all disciplines and is the highest academic honor that Reinhardt College awards.

Return to Previous Page