Apply Now

Reinhardt Softball Team Picked to Repeat as Conference Champions in AAC Preseason Coaches' Poll 

Glen Crawfordoriginally published 11/1/11 - In the 2012 preseason poll of the 10 Appalachian Athletic Conference head coaches, the Reinhardt University softball team is picked to repeat as the AAC regular season champion after receiving 80 points and eight first-place votes.

Milligan garnered 69 points and one first-place vote for second while Union College (Ky.) is third with 55 points after getting the remaining first-place vote. Rounding out the poll are Virginia Intermont College (fourth place, 52 points), Tennessee Wesleyan College (fifth, 50), Montreat College (sixth, 48), Columbia (S.C.) College (seventh, 36), Bryan College (eighth, 29), Point University (ninth, 17) and Bluefield College (10th, 12).

2010-11 Team Stats

Reinhardt, under two-time AAC Coach-of-the-Year Glen Crawford, has won the AAC regular season title and finished 40-11 overall in each of the past two seasons. In 2011, the Lady Eagles also claimed the AAC Tournament crown, advancing to the NAIA national event for the first time in school history. Reinhardt returns junior Maddie Monroe, the AAC Pitcher of the Year in both 2010 and 2011, along with other all-conference players in senior catcher Ashley Kennedy, senior utility player Nikki Roddy, senior outfielder Andrea Thibaudeau and senior infielder Haley Williams.

The Lady Eagles open their 2012 season when hosting their Reinhardt University Invitational on Feb. 10-11.

Return to Previous Page