Apply Now

Etowah and Dean Rusk teams take top honors at Reinhardt University/Cherokee County Mathematics Tournament; individual awards presented to top six students in competition

(published 11/15/11) Waleska, Ga. – The numbers added up to victory for a select group of local high school and middle school students. More than 55 students competed in the fourth annual Reinhardt University/Cherokee County Mathematics Tournament hosted by the mathematics students and faculty of Reinhardt University. Six high schools in the county, Cherokee, Creekview, Etowah, River Ridge, Sequoyah and Woodstock, and three middle schools, Dean Rusk, River Ridge and Woodstock, were each represented with one or two teams of four students who competed for awards and scholarships.

Etowah teamTeam Awards

Students competed as teams and as individuals to earn top honors in the competition. The Etowah High School varsity team of Wright Vermilya (from left), coach; Christoffer Ormstrup, Ben Miller, Zach Elliott and Keegan Nesbitt placed first in the tournament, while the Dean Rusk Middle School team of Sydney McHugh (from left), Jonathan Shearer, Mackenzie Joy and Zaria Hunter placed first in the junior varsity category. Each team was presented with a trophy, which will be engraved with the team members’ names and honor, by Reinhardt Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs Dr. Robert Driscoll (center).

Individual Honors

Dean Rusk teamThe individual competition in the tournament was strong as Etowah’s Zach Elliott placed first in the varsity standings and was awarded a $500 scholarship to Reinhardt. Victoria Cochran, from Creekview, secured second and was awarded a $400 Reinhardt scholarship. Placing third and earning a $300 Reinhardt scholarship was Ian Donn of River Ridge.

River Ridge Middle School swept the junior varsity individual competition with Chetan Velivela, who earned first place, followed by Evan Duffield, who took second place, and Emily Huffan, who placed third. These top six students were all awarded medallions, which will be engraved with their earned honor.

Return to Previous Page