Reinhardt University Home
Reinhardt University Home

Telly AwardTelly Total Up to 17!

Reinhardt University's Communication Program was recognized with three prestigious and internationally recognized Telly Awards.



Nathan Cabaniss '09 received a Bronze award from the 30th Annual Telly Awards in the Film/Video Category for his production entitled "Galatea".

Chad Crowe '07 received his first award for his production entitled "The Carroll County Soup Kitchen," a fundraising promotional he made as a course requirement.

Jennifer Allred '06, Laura Demain '05, and Whitney Smith '05 collaborated on the production of "Video Production Techniques: Camera Operations" as part of a series for COM 250: Fundamentals of Electronic Media Production I. 

The third award was received by the freshmen talent and crew of "RCTV Today Episode 3." Those students included Clint Adams, Stephanie Bragg, Aurora Harris, Jennifer Laminack, and Briana Moody with the support of their advisors Assistant Professor Larry Webb, and Production Manager Laura Demain.

"Winning a telly award during my freshman year was a great honor and a high achievement. I see this accomplishment as a great stepping stone for a successful career in TV!"  - Briana Moody '10

These new awards bring Reinhardt's total to 17 recipients since the College expanded its communications program to the four-year level in year 1998.

Peg O'Connor, former Dean of the School of Communication Arts and Music, noted that the "recognition is of their skill by an international body of people who are considered to be authorities in their field and a clear demonstration of the students' creative abilities and proof of the skills they have acquired at the College" She added, "I think it's an award that is recognized by the industry and gives [our graduates] an edge when they apply for a position."

According to the Telly Awards web site,, the Telly Awards honor outstanding local, regional, and cable television commercials and programs, as well as the finest video and film productions. Each year judges recognize distinctive creative work with Silver or Bronze winners, with silver the highest.

Other regular entrants and winners include HBO, Fox Studios, A&E Network, U.S. Army, Universal Studios, U.S. Olympic Entertainment, and many more.

Previous Telly Award winners include alumni Stephanie Baswell, Courtney Neal, Katherine Ramy, Laura Hughes, Brian Steel, Erin Wall, James White, Vanessa Barfield, Lisa Musgrove, and Ryan Scholl.