Apply Now

2016 Inauguration and Awards Gala


Dr. Brian Hightower, superintendent of the Cherokee
County School District, was honored April 15 with the
2015-16 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year award.

Reinhardt University announced its best of the best for its 2015-16 Distinguished Alumnus of the Year and “10 Under 10” at the Inauguration Gala for Dr. Kina S. Mallard, Reinhardt’s 20th President.

The gala was held April 15 at the Northside Hospital-Cherokee Conference Center in Canton with more than 200 guests in attendance.

Cherokee County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian Hightower was honored as the university’s Distinguished Alumnus of the Year. The award recognizes an individual with “outstanding personal achievement and an unselfish and dedicated personal devotion to Reinhardt.”

“I would not be the leader, the educator or the person I am today without my Reinhardt experience,” Hightower said. “Reinhardt confirmed my pathway was education, that my home would be Cherokee County and that my wife would be the lovely Sue Hightower. To be recognized with such an award by the university that has given me so much is an honor that truly humbles me.”

Hightower graduated from Reinhardt in 1983 with an associate degree in liberal arts. While continuing his education at then-Kennesaw College, he remained at Reinhardt as a resident assistant and coordinated housing. Hightower went on to earn several degrees including a Bachelor of Science in Education, Master of Education, Education Specialist and Doctorate of Education.

For 30 years, he has been an educator and administrator, all but one at the Cherokee County School District. He started in Cherokee County as a teacher at E.T. Booth Middle School and later became assistant principal then principal. He moved to central office for the district to work in school operations, and this past February, he took the role as superintendent.

He has supported Reinhardt for many years, including service as a charter member and co-chair of the Price School of Education’s Alumni Association from 2004-2015.

Also at the Gala held Friday night, Reinhardt University named its “10 Under 10,” which recognizes a group of alumni who graduated in the last 10 years and are successful in business, the military, nonprofits, government, ministry and/or the arts.

The 2016 “10 Under 10” are:


Reinhardt announced its 10 Under 10 for the 2015-16 school
year during the Inauguration banquet held at the Northside
Hospital-Cherokee Conference Center on April 15. Pictured,
from left, are Anas Altarawneh, Elizabeth Coe Carnes, Mallory
Childers, Stefanie Jones, Dr. Lena Joseph, Cobb Fire Chief
Randal Crider, Samantha Lane and Kelsey Syers’ mother,
who stood in for her since she is in Taiwan.

Read more about the 10 under 10.

Become a fan of Reinhardt on Facebook

For more information