Apply Now

Dr. Beth Russell Presented with Faculty Mentor Award at Reinhardt's Recent Honors Day Ceremony

Dr. S. Beth RussellAssociate Professor of Psychology Dr. S. Beth Russell of Canton, Ga., received Reinhardt College's Elizabeth Moss Bailey Faculty Mentor Award this spring. The award is given out annually to a faculty member that provides unwavering dedication and commitment to the students of Reinhardt College.

"I am so honored!" she said. "Nothing compares to having the students perceive you as an advocate and mentor. I take seriously the personalizing of education. Every student is soon to be on the frontline in their career choice, and I want them to be the best that they can be!  I believe in them with all my heart!"

Award Description
The Elizabeth Moss Bailey Faculty Mentor Award was created in 2003 by the College's Student Government Association (SGA) as an opportunity for recognizing a faculty member that renders outstanding mentorship to students. The SGA takes nominations for the honor from students, and then the members of the Student Senate vote on the faculty recipient. The award is named for Elizabeth Moss Bailey '28, a distinguished alumna and former professor and dean of women who helped create the work-study program at the College.

Above and Beyond
Russell goes above and beyond her duties as a professor. She teaches freshman orientation classes each semester, and she plays a large part in the College's "Spirit Committee."

"Dr. Russell is a professor who beings a great amount of energy and wisdom to the classroom," said Briana Moody, a senior from Grovetown, Ga., and the 2008-09 president of SGA. "She is always available for additional help, caring advice, or as a listening ear. Dr. Russell has great spirit for Reinhardt College, and she believes in her students and their future success."

Russell Background
Russell received a bachelor's degree from the University of Indianapolis and her master's and Ph.D. from Georgia State University. She has taught at Reinhardt for more than 15 years.

Return to Previous Page