Apply Now

Men's golf team wins AAC championship with Dixon named Coach of Year, earns trip to NAIA national tournament on May 18-21 in Illinois

Men's Golf Team - AAC Champs!At the Appalachian Athletic Conference Championship tournament, the Reinhardt College men's golf team shot a 54-hole total of 881 (+29) to claim the AAC title and an automatic bid to the NAIA National Championship event. The two-day tournament took place at the par-71, 6745-yard Bear Trace at Tims Ford course, Winchester, Tenn., on Monday and Tuesday with eight conference teams participating.  

After firing a 289 during Monday's first round, Reinhardt had a four-shot lead. The Eagles came up with a 293 in the day's second 18 holes, and their advantage was trimmed to two strokes. On Tuesday, Reinhardt shot 299 and held on for a four-stroke victory over the Tennessee Wesleyan College Bulldogs (293-291-301--885), who received nine votes in the latest NAIA poll to rank tied for 36th nationally. Finishing in third place were the Milligan College Buffaloes (294-296-297--887).

Coach of the Year
Reinhardt head coach Ken Dixon was named the 2010 AAC Coach of the Year after guiding the Eagles to the conference championship. Leading the way for Reinhardt in the 38-player field was Chris Cartwright, who ended as the tournament runner-up after shooting a 2-over-par 215 (71-71-73). Joining Cartwright on the AAC All-Tournament Team was freshman Dan Merriman, who put together rounds of 74-73-71 for a 218 total and fourth place. Jason Mobley (73-77-79--229) and Rudi Lee (71-72-86--229) tied for 12th place while freshman Zach Lindsey (82-77-76--235) tied for 22nd.

NAIA National Championship
Reinhardt's next competition is the 59th Annual NAIA National Championship on May 18-21 at TPC at Deere Run in Silvis, Ill. It will be the Eagles' first-ever appearance at the NAIA national event.

Return to Previous Page