Skip to content
Lehigh Carbon Community College

Some of the best and brightest incoming freshmen for the 2019-20 academic year were invited to campus Thursday for the annual Sharp Scholars reception.

The Sharp Scholarship began in fall 2016 to benefit a diverse set of students with unique talents. Select students are invited to the Interview Day, held in early March. Once selected, the Sharp Scholars and their parents are invited to attend the special reception.

“We are so excited to welcome the Sharp Scholars to campus this fall,” said director of admissions Lacey Satterfield. “The selection committee had a strong, talented group to choose from and these students represent the best of the best. I’m looking forward to seeing the great contributions that they will make to Reinhardt and watching them grow during their four years here.”

This year, 23 Sharp Scholars were selected and will be awarded $2,000 to $5,000 toward their Reinhardt tuition.

After President Kina Mallard welcomed guests to the reception Thursday night, Associate Provost Jacob Harney introduced current Sharp Scholars, followed by nursing major Shannon Champion ‘20, who reflected on they many ways coming to Reinhardt as a Sharp Scholar helped her to find her place and shape her future.

“College is about finding out who you want to be, and Reinhardt is here to help you on that journey,” said Champion. “You gain more than just a grade; you get an actual understanding of how the content might help you in your career.

“Community is everywhere,” Champion said to incoming students of her personal experiences. “You’ll soon have the opportunity to find your part in it. I encourage you to find your community and find your Reinhardt.”

Dr. Kina Mallard and Dr. Jacob Harney with the 2019-20 Sharp Scholars.

Mallard and Harney then presented the following Sharp Scholar recipients:

Veronica Berrong

Jarrett Bowen

Nicholas Bradley

Joshua Cline

Zoe Conoly

Bryson Dent

Sydnee Goode

Jack Haller

Addyson Huneke

Kayla Hutcherson

Emilly Johnson

Louis Kessinger

Evan Lambert

Benjamin Lepik

Tara Mackey

Amberlyn Muntz

Carley Pilgrim

Samantha Reckling

Lorenzo Robinson

Jade Seery

Elliott Stone

Taylor Turner

Jocelyn Villanueva

The evening concluded with a reception at the Hal B. Wansley’s President’s Home.

Congratulations to the 2019-20 Sharp Scholars!