Skip to content
Lehigh Carbon Community College

By Suzy Alstrin

Representing the top ten percent of their junior and senior classes, the induction of thirteen students into the Georgia Mu Chapter of the Alpha Chi National College Honor Scholarship Society on March 17 recognized their academic excellence.

Alpha Chi is a coeducational, cross-disciplinary honor society with over 300 chapters in the United States and Puerto Rico. It seeks to promote and recognize outstanding scholarly achievement and exemplary character among college and university students by providing opportunities for continued growth and service.

The inductees pledged to uphold the purposes of Alpha Chi, lit a candle symbolizing learning, signed the Society’s constitution, and received pins. “Their achievements indicate that they are progressing toward the ideals of our Society-truth and character,” the Chapter’s co-sponsor Dr. SimonPeter Gomez told the assembly.

“Academic study is a noble cause,” Reinhardt University’s president Dr. Mark A. Roberts said in his address to the students. “It is important to remember that the skills and knowledge obtained are also valuable for personal enrichment, for you’re coming into a role as a contributing citizen in our community.” He thanked the inductees’ family and friends for their support. He also thanked Reinhardt’s faculty for “providing an academic atmosphere where challenge is delivered with care.”

Georgia Mu named Reinhardt University’s registrar, Janet M. Rodning, as the recipient of the one honorary membership permitted for a Chapter each year within the campus community. She exemplifies the ideals and purposes of the Society and has made significant contributions to the local chapter.

Congratulations to the inducted students:

McCamish School of Business and Professions

Sarah Bambrick (RU – 2025)

Pilar Becerra (RU – 2025)

Luciano Agustin Fisicaro (RU – 2024)

Andrew Paolozzi (RU – 2025)

School of the Arts

Celestine Chung (RU – 2024)

Jenna Gonzalez (RU – 2024)

Jacqueline Alexis McCone (RU – 2024)

Kristen Renee Teagarden (RU – 2024)

College of Humanities, Sciences, and Technology

Phoebe Hart (RU – 2024)

Emilee Michaela Hendrix (RU – 2023)

Tiffany Noelle Smith (RU – 2024)

Thomas Vincent (RU – 2025)

Robert Franklin Weekley, Jr. (RU – 2025)