Skip to content
Lehigh Carbon Community College

Student of the Year (Traditional) – Reyna Gijion- Vasquez

Congratulations Reinhardt’s academic scholars who were recognized at the annual Evening of Honors at the James and Sis Brown Athletic Center Tuesday evening. Students and faculty were celebrated for scholarship, service, and exemplary work.

Student Scholar Awards

Juniors and seniors with a GPA of 3.9 or higher were recognized as Reinhardt University Academic Scholars. Juniors and seniors with a 3.6 to 3.89 GPA were recognized as Hugh Peterson Jr. Academic Scholars.

No Greater Love Award

Jilian Martinet received the No Greater Love Award, given each year to a student who has expressed a spirit of caring through extraordinary and exemplary community service and love of fellow humans.

“Jillian is a student leader on our Campus Ministries Leadership Team,” said Josh Garner, coordinator of spiritual life and service. “She exemplifies service to others through her words and actions. She spends countless hours behind the scenes planning the details of the many campus ministries programs. She plans service projects, leads at worship services, and mentors her peers. She does this so that others are able to grow in their faith.”

School Achievement Awards

An honoree from each of the University’s Schools was selected by the faculty to receive the School Student Achievement Award.

· School of Arts and Humanities – Kamille Jade McKinne

· McCamish School of Business and Sports Studies- Carley Anne Pilgrim & Torie M. Williams.

· Price School of Education – Kathryn Alysse Cook

· School of Mathematics and Sciences – Jack Mitchell Haller

· Nursing – Tatiana Paola Beltran Grimaldo

· School of Performing Arts – Michael Charles Sumner

· Professional Studies – Michael James Hewett

Academic Program Awards

Faculty from each school selected up to two seniors from each degree program to receive Academic Program Awards. Each student chosen must have a cumulative GPA greater than 3.3 and have shown exceptional work.

Art Ariana Azahar (Graphic Design) and Catherine Grace Shope (Studio Art)

Biology Elise Marie Marshall and Alia Bethsabe Castro

Noel Kathryn Briere and Federico Guuillermo Gomez (Accounting),
Jeffrey Paul Edge (BBA Online) Jonathan Storm Jumper
Lila Elizabeth McArthur (General Business/Gen Comm)
Kirsten Elayah Gray and Niko Fotios Tzevelekoz (Management)
Kaitlyn Rene Lauk and Walker Chase Byrd (Marketing)
David Brandon Starks and Severin Elia Ryf (Sports Studies)


Arts Philip Andreas Frowis and Sierra Noel Ruetten (Strategic Communication), Stephen Jeremiah Taylor and Brylee Paige Puckett (Digital Media Arts), Eddie Thomas Resendez (Digital Storytelling)

Criminal Justice Roy Clifford Thompson

Jillian Jeanette Trowell and Meredith Blakely Johnson
(EC Education), Brooke Avery Ramey and Bryce Riley Wilkins
(MG Education), Sara Ansley Bensink
(Secondary Bio), Elliott Bradford Stone Martie LeAnne Turner
(Secondary History), Martie LeAnne Turner
(Secondary Math), Kaitlin Emily Marick
Jarrett Nichole Bowen
Devin Michael Ware (Creative Writing)

Healthcare Administration

Jennifer Plemmons Crosswell


Joshua Steven Belden and Jessica Leigh Landers

Interdisciplinary Studies

Joseph Leonard Granville


Daphne Arlene Lefevers (Math)
Jordan Heath Hampton (Cybersecurity)

Performing Arts

Caitlyn Alexa Santiago and Slade Alexander Searcy (Music Education) Jeffrey Thomas Alton Unger and Riley Kathryn Ortega (Music  Performance) Juniper Lee and Adriana Nicole Talkington (Theatre Studies)
Kaitlin Grace Hartel and Trevor Dwayne Watkins (Musical Theatre)

Psychology Jack Mitchell Haller and Bailey Grace Streid

Alexis Lynn Novack (Sociology),
Nicole Elizabeth Licciardello and Aidan Thomas Blockley (Criminal Justice)

Engaged Learner Award

The Engaged Learner Award is presented by CITEL and given to a student who has earned a 3.5 cumulative GPA or higher, has exhibited campus leadership inside and outside the classroom, participated in CITEL programs and has engaged in at least three High Impact Practices. This year the Award went to Carley Anne Pilgrim.

Faculty Awards

The Annual Evening of Honors also recognizes faculty members for their exemplary work over the academic year. The following faculty members were honored Tuesday evening:

· William J. Walsh, associate professor of English and director of the Master of Fine Arts program, received the Vulcan Outstanding Teaching Award. This is awarded to a faculty member who consistently reflects excellence in their teaching and work with students.

· Dr. Linda Morgan, associate professor at the Cauble School of Nursing and Health Sciences, received the United Methodist Exemplary Teacher Award.

· Jason Jones, assistant professor of music education, was presented with the Faculty Research & Scholarship Award.

· The Faculty Artistic Award was given to Mr. James Davis, associate professor of art.

· Tami Smith, assistant professor of early childhood education, earned the Innovative Teaching Award.

· Kelly Bryant, artist affiliate, received the Innovative Adjunct Teaching Award.

· Dr. Lydia Laucella was given the Elizabeth Moss Bailey Faculty Mentor Award, voted on by Reinhardt University students.

Student of the Year (Non-traditional) – Martie Turner

Reinhardt Students of the Year Each year two students are recognized as student of the year – one traditional student and one non-traditional student. These students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.6 or higher and demonstrate leadership, honesty, service to the community, and service to the University.

Student of the Year (Traditional) – Reyna Gijion- Vasquez

Student of the Year (Non-traditional) – Martie Turner

“As I walked to the gym, I saw many of my former professors,” said Turner. “I was thankful to see them there to cheer on all the students at this special event. I received this award because of my professors. If it weren’t for them, I would not be where I am in my life. This fall, I will be a 6th-grade teacher at Teasley Middle School. I can’t wait to inspire my students just like my professors at Reinhardt have done for me.”