Skip to content
Lehigh Carbon Community College

Reinhardt music students to represent university at nationals.

Reinhardt University students once again were honored for their talent with many qualifying for the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) competition.

Music students competed in Atlanta March 24-25 in the Southeastern Regional NATS (SERNATS) competition. Students were led by music faculty Dr. Reverie Berger, assistant professor of music, Dr. Rebecca Salter, associate professor of music-applied voice, Dr. Cory Schantz, assistant professor of music-voice, and Dr. Anne Schantz, assistant of music-applied voice.

Nine students placed in their categories, with many others placing second, third and as finalists – all of whom qualify for the national competition this summer. More than $35,000 in prize money is associated with the national competition.

Move-On-When-Ready student Victoria Hill, from Dr. Berger’s studio, earned first place in both Upper High School Classical Women and Upper High School Musical Theatre Women. Semi-finalists from Dr. Berger’s studio who competed include Kayla Thomas (1st Year Classical Women), Anya Cutter (1st Year Musical Theatre Women), Lacy King (1st Year Musical Theatre Women) and Brianna Perez (4th/5th Year Classical Women).

From Dr. Salter’s studio, Tyler Bucher earned third place for 4th/5th Year Musical Theatre Men; Erika Szatmary secured second place for 4th/5th Year Musical Theatre Women; and Tyler Smith won second place for 3rd Year Musical Theatre Men. Lexie Stinson was a semi-finalist for 3rd Year Classical Women, and Katie Hurst was a semi-finalist for 1st Year Classical Women.

Dr. Anne Schantz’s student Sarah Williams earned third place in 3rd Year Musical Theatre Women, while Joshua Lance (3rd Year Classical Men) and Spenser Dunn (1st Year Classical Men) will move on to nationals as finalists. Katherine Manettas was a semi-finalist for 4th/5th Year Classical Women.

Three students from Dr. Cory Schantz’s studio will move on to nationals including Clark Cumbee (second place, 4th/5th Year Musical Theatre Men), Jaime Mandujano (third place, 1st Year Musical Theatre Men) and Cameron Smith (finalist, 3rd Year Musical Theatre Men). Mandujano also was a semi-finalist in the 1st Year Classical Men category.