Skip to content
Lehigh Carbon Community College

The Reinhardt community gathered on April 4, in Donor Plaza to honor and remember the lives of those who have passed away. The annual ceremony, a Reinhardt tradition, included music performed by Jared Brooks ’24, a scripture reading by Oliva Adams ’25, and each name of those lost from the Reinhardt community, read aloud, followed by the chiming of the carillon bell.

“Our time together to read aloud the names of loved ones signifies our university’s care for our extended community and recognizes the legacies that make us who we are,” said Mark A. Roberts, Ph.D., president of Reinhardt University. “Each name represents a life – a life lived worthily and with purpose, a life lived through faith, hope, and love.”

“Many of these individuals have demonstrated for us lives of generosity and love and compassion and scholarship,” said Rev. Brian Smith, pastor of Waleska United Methodist Church and campus chaplain. “We remember those individuals who embody virtues of patience and peace, kindness and faith.”

Josh Garner, coordinator of spiritual life and service, shared, “There is great power in remembering. The power comes from remembering the best qualities of people and letting those qualities inspire us.” Also honored were the nearly 1 million lives lost to COVID-19 in the United States.

This year, Reinhardt honored the following members of the Reinhardt faculty, staff, friends, and family who have passed away:

Gary L. Adams

Gilbert Adams ’58

Alan D. Allen

Elizabeth D. Berkner ’54

Hoyt M. Brown

Dallas William Buckner ’62

Lillian W. Childre

Bobby B. Cleghorn ’52

Chloe Couvrette Gail Cromey Hollis Acey Cronon ’52

Deborah J. Curtis ’93

Eva C. Davis ’78 Julia Rosalyn Davis ’60

Mary Louise Dixon

David Duncan

Robert J. Eubanks ’56

Rhonda Leigh Fields

David A. Ford

Betty Tippens Forrester ’50

Frances Foster

Ernest W. Gaines, Jr. ’64

Carolyn S. Galt Judy Garner Homer L. Gold, Jr.

June Lewis Goss Earl Groover ’68 Jack A. Hardin ’77

Frank L. Hemphill ’40

Donna Atkinson Jackson ’60

Emily James-Lesser

Chris O. Jernigan Lloyd

H. Johnson ’51

Mary Jeanne Johnson ’52

Paul Michael Jones ’62

Valarie L. Jordan

Michael J. Kelly ’75

Anne Starr Kling ’52 J. Malcolm Kling Robert K. Konior ’96

Sandra M. Lackland ’67

Patsy Campbell Madariaga

Betty Mansell ’46 Mary Eula Whittemore McKnight ’60

Vickie Mulkey

Dave Olsen Joan Poole James A. Porcari James Franklin Pruitt

Jeffrey L. Shultz ’79

Richard D. Summers

Amanda Casteel Torbett ’17

Eben J. Williams, Jr.

Donald D. Wilson, Jr. Edna Roquemore Young ’56