Skip to content
Lehigh Carbon Community College

Reinhardt’s focus on creating an environment that challenges and cares, occurs in and out of the classroom and involves its students and employees alike. Two innovative examples made possible by contributions recently took place – one for students and one for faculty.

Reinhardt’s Scholars Program brings together scholarship recipients throughout the year to reflect on their work and purpose and enrich their experience.

With the support of a grant awarded by the Center for Innovative Teaching and Engaged Learning (CITEL), the group gathered for an overnight retreat at Camp Glisson in Dahlonega, Georgia. The immersive experience on January 13 and 14 included hearing detailed stories from Professor Elizabeth Smith, Dr. Kenneth Wheeler, Dr. Andrew Jones, and Academic Support Office (ASO) Director Tunji Adesesan, who shared their challenges, journeys, decisions, and influences.

As the students learn to ask big questions and challenge themselves, Dr. Amy Cottrill, Director of the Scholars Program, says the weekend together, “cultivated a strong sense of community and shared experiences certain to leave a mark on each of our lives.”

Thirty-six current students have received the Diverse Talents, Presidential, Mary Jane Reinhardt Sharpe, Goizueta, and Lettie Pate Whitehead scholarships. Dr. Cottrill works to enrich each of their unique strengths, talents, and interests.