Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is an honor society for students of history. Founded at the University of Arkansas in 1921, it now boasts over 900 chapters and 350,000 members. Reinhardt's chapter (designated Alpha Mu Beta) was founded in 2005 and has inducted new members every year since.

Requirements for membership: a student must have an overall GPA of 3.0 or better, and a GPA of at least 3.1 in four or more history courses. It is not necessary to be a history major to be eligible to join. Interested students should contact Jonathan Good, faculty advisor.

The PAT quarterly journal is The Historian, which new initiates receive for a year as part of their membership fee.

Phi Alpha Theta hosts 35 regional meetings nationwide each spring, and a biennial national convention. Reinhardt's PAT chapter was pleased to host the Georgia regional meeting in 2010 and 2015.

The 2017 induction ceremony will be held on March 23 at 3:30 in the Glass House.

Members, Reinhardt University chapter of Phi Alpha Theta:

2016: Brent Blackwell, Cole Gregory, Katie Hale, Melissa Martinez, Chase Palmer, Grant Patrick, Max Smith, Kyle Walker, Joseph Wheeler

2015: Daniel Carpenter, Kaitlyn Gibson, Zach McElveen

2014: Brandi Kristina Allen, Matthew Amis, Alexander Bryant, Joseph Dylan Ellis, Wyatt Dean, Zachary Muller

2013: Aaron Avera, Chris Baker, Patrick Hall, Beth McDougald, Leslie Ratchford, Ari Tatum

2012: Patricia Barton, Jacqueline Cline, Steven Karafa, Justin Lawrenz, Martie Richards

2011: Owen Bageley, Emerald Boggs, Elizabeth Haverfield, Bree Holtzman, Denny Jones, Stephanie Joyner, Hannah Mayo, Will McCracken, Anna Nation, Trevor Rhodes, Caitlan Sumner, Heather Tatham, Carey Whipple

2010: Tyler Hinson, Billy King, Andrew Pullen, Barbara Stamey, Lindsay Taylor

2009: Brandi Berger, Courtney Byrd, Bennett Gaddes, Carl Lilja, Erika Miller, Kirsten Rodning

2008: Louis Cipra, Will Cody, Sarah Coulter, Gail Oldt, Stephen Semasky

2007: Dan Audia, Leigh Baker, Christina Burns, Amanda Gabrell, Lauren Lewis, Kimmie O’Connor, Stefanie Painter, Devin Pass, Brett Shirley, Lara Spradley, Heather Turner

2006: Joe Satterfield, Jarrell Hales III, Lance Patrick, Jonathan Post

2005: Maria Satterfield, Andrew Craig, Shannon Hackett, Sean Mulligan, Mathew Pinson, Joe Phillips, Reed Vener, Jefferson Holt, Raelynda Adams, Caleb Land


Jonathan Good
Professor of History